Logo.

I’m finally trying to design a logo for myself as a designer. But finding it a huge challenge for multiple reasons. So I’ve gone through LogoTournament as if I want my logo designed, just to get a feel of what I need from my logo – and I can hopefully then follow my own brief!

Describe what your organisation does in one sentence:
Unique, on-trend design solutions.

Please select your industry: Media (design)

Please describe the target audience for your logo:
Primarily young (aged 20-45) people in Canberra and Melbourne who have an eye for great design and knowledge of latest trends. Probably mid-higher socio-economic status, and studying at a tertiary level -they understand what paying for a designer can do for your item or brand.
Secondly, employers or professionals in the design industry who also appreciate great design, being on trend, professionalism, and unique-ness.

What are the Top 3 three things you would like to communicate to your audience through your logo?
1. Unique
2. Professional
3. Approachable

Please select the styles that you would like to see for your logo:
-Wordmark: A wordmark consists of the company name in a stylized type and may include small abstract or pictorial elements.
-Letterform Mark: Typically uses a very small amount of letters (1-2) to represent the organization.

Please describe the colors you would like to see (or not see) in your logo:
Possibly only grey (or black) and white logo – though could have a tiny splash of colour as a feature to make more approachable. (Purple, teal, orange or something pastel.)
(Purple – Royalty, Wisdom, Spirituality, Imagination

Orange – Creativity, Invigoration, Unique, Energy
Grey – Sophisticated, Neutrality, Uncommitted
White – Perfection, Purity, Wedding, Clean, Virtue)

Do you have any logo ideas or additional information or links that would be useful to the designers?
-My personal style/inspiration can be seen at my tumblr – www.skyshouldbefalling.tumblr.com

-Logos that I love/ would consider going in the direction of include:

Source: http://www.fromupnorth.com/logo-inspiration-884/

Source: http://saltedink.com/2014/04/02/new-brand-launch-whiskey-white-events-raleigh-nc/

Source: http://www.fromupnorth.com/logo-inspiration-884/

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 4.03.50 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 4.02.29 pm

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 4.05.00 pm

Style Sliders:

sliders

Where will your logo be used?
Print (resume, business card, portfolio, etc) and online.

So I started experimenting, and came up with a rang of ideas – but found that I think I want to stick with a serif typeface as the feature for some reason.

logo experiment2As you may have read in my personality type – I’m not great at making important decisions so this could take a while! So far I think I have developed a final design with a circular variation, as I couldn’t quite decide on the use of a circle or not. I think both alternative can be used, depending on their context/placement.

Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 10.02.55 am Screen Shot 2015-03-16 at 11.47.09 am
I found that the simplest logo had the most appeal to everyone I asked, but they still loved the circle as a feature. They also loved the orange, which I chose as I had used it in previous attempts of self-branding – and the fact that I chose it as a final works well because, as mentioned, it happens to  represent creativity! Although I never usually use serif typefaces for display, this one just worked better than anything else I tried, especially when communicating professionalism as well as a bit or warmth.

My resume/CV template doesn’t include this exact branding though, as I had to include my name, not my brand. I decided to use hand-written text in the logo styled part of the resume for this reason – to personalise it. Otherwise, it is styled using similar colours and look and feel of my logo.

sian beadle Graphic design black resume

Leave a Reply

